Brunston Castle Golf Course Raises Funds for Help for Heroes

Brunston Castle Golf Course took part in the National Golf Club Challenge recently, and in sunny conditions a great day for golfing fanatics raised £2250 for our injured armed forces.

The National Golf Club Challenge is bringing together hundreds of golf clubs and thousands of golfers to compete, have fun and to raise funds for the popular Help for Heroes charity.

The idea for the National Golf Club Challenge was born out of wanting to assist the excellent Help for Heroes charity. The solution was to organise a national golf competition in which every golfer in the United Kingdom could participate.

Lee Westwood, one of the Challenge patrons, has given his full support to the national fundraising initiative, saying: “Together we have the chance to change the lives of those who have sacrificed and endured so much so we might live full and free lives. Many brave men and women have suffered often the most horrendous injuries in the line of duty, and these heroes deserve our wholehearted support.”

The 10 leading golfers from the Brunston Castle event go forward to at the Grand Final, which will be held over two days 11/12 October at one of the UK’s premier golfing venues – The Belfry.

They 10 qualifiers from Brunston Castle Golf Course are:

1: David McMillan
2: Scott McCahill
3: Steven Rarity
4: Sam Cochrane
5: Martin Hoggitt
6: Paul Torrance
7: Alec Dunlop
8: Peter Gray
9: George Scobie
10: Paul Robinson

The 2010 National Golf Club Challenge winners will be presented with the Lee Westwood Cup, a stunning golf trophy, commissioned and donated by Wedgwood especially for the Challenge competition, in aid of Help for Heroes.

Brunston Castle Golf Course general manager Cheryl Steven commented: “I would like to personally thank all Brunston Castle Golf Club members, visitors and staff who participated in this event and assisted in its organisation. All their efforts made this day such a successful event. I would also like to thank all the local businesses as detailed who kindly donated prizes to help with our raffle to raise funds.”

Brunston Castle Golf Course 

Brunston Castle Golf Course is situated in the most scenic part of Ayrshire. Located in the naturally sheltered valley of the Water of Girvan and overlooked by the rolling South Carrick hills, this championship length, par 72 parkland course is in an area of outstanding natural beauty.

Designed by renowned architect, Donald Steel, the course is a testing 6,700 yards from the white tees. Clever use of the natural contours of the land and the creation of a number of strategically placed ponds have created some spectacular holes. Bisected by the River Girvan, dotted with mature trees and surrounded by the picturesque landscape of the Bargany Estate, each of the holes has features that will remain memorable long after the round has finished. The greens, too, have been constructed to a particularly high standard and provide excellent putting surfaces throughout the year. Again, great thought has gone into the contouring of these and some are notoriously difficult to read.

The undulating nature of the well groomed fairways and the elevation of some of the greens can make the estimation of yardages a risky business. Accurate knowledge of a distance will be of great assistance to those looking for a chance to score well on this excellent course.

Brunston Castle Golf Club
Dailly KA26 9SB
Ayrshire, Scotland

Contact: Cheryl Steven, General Manager
Tel: 01465 811471
Fax: 01465 811545
E-mail: cheryl.steven@brunstoncastle.co.uk
Web: www.brunstoncastle.co.uk

THE ELITE AYRSHIRE BUSINESS CIRCLE

Brunston Castle Golf Course is a founder member of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.

The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association founded in 2007 by some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the rich diversity of industry, commerce and business services available within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse, Western House Hotel and South Ayrshire Council. and member company activities include broadcasting, building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

Frazer Coogans Solicitors senior partner Norman Geddes is executive chairman of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle, and managing director is public relations consultancy Fame Publicity Services proprietor Murdoch MacDonald. 

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com

Website: http://www.eliteayrshire.com

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

South Ayrshire Council http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk 
Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk       
Turnberry Hotel and Golf Resort http://www.turnberry.co.uk 
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk       
Western House Hotel http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk/hotel.html       
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk       
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk  
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com       
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com       
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk       
William Skinner & Son Building Contractors http://www.williamskinner.co.uk        
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com       
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com       
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk      
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk       
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com    
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk     
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com 
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com 
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com  
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
West Sound Radio http://www.westsound.co.uk
http://www.westfm.co.uk        
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

Contact: Murdoch MacDonald
Phone: 01292 281498
Email: famepublicity@aol.com
Website: http://www.AyrshireScotlandBusinessNews.com