South Ayrshire Council Appoints New Executive Director

South Ayrshire Council has appointed a new Executive Director to its Corporate Management Team with responsibility for planning, tourism, roads, waste management, property and assets, environmental health, trading standards and customer service.

Lesley Bloomer (pictured above) will take over as Executive Director of Development & Environment when Graham Peterkin retires in the autumn.

Lesley is currently a Performance Adviser working through SOLACE (Society of Local Authority Chief Executives) Enterprises to help Scottish Councils improve their performance and has worked with around 12 of the 32 local authorities in the country.

She is also currently Deputy Chairman of the Board of the Scottish Environment Protection Agency.

She previously held the role of Director of Performance Audit for Education, Enterprise and Justice with the public sector watchdog Audit Scotland, where she led teams to deliver a series of influential performance reviews. She also sat on the Board of the Care Commission and played a key role in establishing the overall strategic direction of the organisation.

Councillor Bill McIntosh, Leader of South Ayrshire Council, said: “This is a challenging time for local government and it’s vital we have the right people in place as we move forward. I am delighted Lesley is joining South Ayrshire Council and look forward to working with her and the rest of the Corporate Management team to make a positive difference for the people and communities of South Ayrshire.”

David Anderson, Chief Executive of South Ayrshire Council, said: “Lesley brings considerable experience from both public and private sectors and her impressive record in performance management speaks for itself.

“I’m sure she will make a strong contribution to the Council as we continue on our improvement journey and will play a key role in the Corporate Management Team as we work to establish South Ayrshire as the most dynamic, inclusive and sustainable community in Scotland.”

Lesley said: “I am delighted to be joining South Ayrshire Council and I look forward to working with my new colleagues in Development and Environment, as well as across the Council and our many partners.

“South Ayrshire is where I grew up and it's great to be able to contribute to its future prosperity and quality of life.”

www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk

THE ELITE AYRSHIRE BUSINESS CIRCLE

South Ayrshire Council is a founder member of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.

The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association founded in 2007 by some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the rich diversity of industry, commerce and business services available within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse, Western House Hotel and South Ayrshire Council. and member company activities include broadcasting, building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

Frazer Coogans Solicitors senior partner Norman Geddes is executive chairman of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle, and managing director is public relations consultancy Fame Publicity Services proprietor Murdoch MacDonald.

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

South Ayrshire Council http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk 
Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk       
Turnberry Hotel and Golf Resort http://www.turnberry.co.uk 
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk       
Western House Hotel http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk/hotel.html       
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk       
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk  
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com       
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com       
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk       
William Skinner & Son Building Contractors http://www.williamskinner.co.uk        
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com       
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com       
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk      
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk       
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com    
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk     
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com 
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com 
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com  
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
West Sound Radio http://www.westsound.co.uk
http://www.westfm.co.uk        
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com

Website: http://www.eliteayrshire.com

 

Contact: Murdoch MacDonald
Phone: 01292 281498
Email: famepublicity@aol.com
Website: http://www.AyrshireScotlandBusinessNews.com