Ayr Racecourse to Welcome Alex Salmond at Gold Cup Meeting

Scotland’s First Minister Alex Salmond will be a special guest at the William Hill (Ayr) Gold Cup at Ayr Racecourse on Saturday 18 September.

Mr Salmond is a lifelong fan of horse racing, and this will be the second time he has attended Scotland’s biggest flat meeting of the season in his capacity of First Minister, having previously presented the Gold Cup in 2007 when Advanced won the race for trainer Kevin Ryan and jockey Jamie Spencer.

[Pictured: Scotland First Minister Alex Salmond with top jockey Frankie Dettori at the 2007 Gold Cup meeting at Ayr Racecourse.]

It is 35 years since a Scottish trained horse won the Ayr Gold Cup – Roman Warrior in 1975 from the Nigel Angus stable. Among the favourites this year are the Jim Goldie trained runners Hawkeyethenoo and Hogmaneigh.

Kate Miller of sponsors William Hill who invited the First Minister commented: “It is tremendous news that Alex Salmond will be attending the William Hill Ayr Gold Cup – a meeting that celebrates all that is good about Scottish racing.

“The First Minister has always been a huge supporter of horse racing, so it is only fitting that he will be attending in person to watch the richest sprint handicap in Europe.”

Ayr Racecourse chairman Alan Macdonald (pictured above) added: “Alex Salmond has fantastic knowledge of horse racing, and I am thrilled he has agreed to attend year's William Hill (Ayr) Gold Cup.”

Mr Salmond will also be appearing on Channel 4’s Morning Line programme on the day of the race, when he will be a guest of presenter Derek Thompson.

For further information please contact Iain Ferguson on 07795-565691.

Ayr Racecourse and the associated Western House Hotel are founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.

THE ELITE AYRSHIRE BUSINESS CIRCLE

The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association founded in 2007 by some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the rich diversity of industry, commerce and business services available within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse, Western House Hotel and South Ayrshire Council, and member company activities include broadcasting, building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

Frazer Coogans Solicitors senior partner Norman Geddes is executive chairman of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle, and managing director is public relations consultancy Fame Publicity Services proprietor Murdoch MacDonald.

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

South Ayrshire Council http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk 
Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk       
Turnberry Hotel and Golf Resort http://www.turnberry.co.uk 
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk       
Western House Hotel http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk/hotel.html       
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk       
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk  
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com       
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com       
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk       
Westgale Ltd Building Contractors http://www.westgale.co.uk        
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com       
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com       
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk      
JB Management – Training Providers http://www.jb-management.com
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk       
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com    
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk     
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com 
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com 
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com  
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
West Sound Radio http://www.westsound.co.uk
http://www.westfm.co.uk        
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com

Website: http://www.eliteayrshire.com

Contact: Murdoch MacDonald
Phone: 01292 281498
Email: famepublicity@aol.com
Website: http://www.AyrshireScotlandBusinessNews.com