Owen Kerr Signs Up Scottish Parliament

Ayr-based firm Owen Kerr Signs have successfully completed a commission from the Scottish Parliament to provide signage for the various Committee Rooms in the building.

Proprietor Owen Kerr explains: “Last year we were contacted by the Scottish Parliament and invited to design and manufacture a series of signs depicting famous Scots including Robert Burns, Alexander Fleming, David Livingstone, Mary Fairfax Somerville, James Clerk Maxwell and Adam Smith.

“A representative of the Parliament had noticed similar signs supplied by ourselves whilst on a visit to Goodrich in Prestwick.

“The initial designs were produced in May and following a few revisions and amendments the finished signs were supplied in November.”

Constructed from oak, polished acrylic and stainless steel, the signs are in place to identify Committee Rooms within the Parliament building.

The signs have an image of each famous Scot and a short biography in both English and Gaelic.

[Pictured: John Scott MSP for Ayr with one of the new plaques by Owen Kerr Signs.]

Member of the Scottish Parliament for Ayr, John Scott commented: “I am delighted to offer Own Kerr Signs my congratulations on securing and completing this contract.

“It is highly appropriate, since the Parliament’s principal Committee Room has been named the Burns Room, that this work should have been undertaken by an Ayr company.

“I’m particularly glad, having made the suggestion to the parliamentary authorities that a room be named after Robert Burns when this was consulted on over a year ago.”

Owen Kerr Signs
48 Green Street Lane,
Ayr KA8 8BH
Scotland.

Telephone: 0044 (0)1292 281000
Facsimile: 0044 (0)1292 285000
Website: www.owenkerr.com

Owen Kerr Signs have also recently achieved accession to full membership of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.

Norman Geddes is senior partner at Ayr-based Frazer Coogans Commercial Solicitors and executive chairman of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle. He commented: “We would like to welcome Owen Kerr Signs to full membership of the Circle, and to congratulate them on winning and successfully completing this prestigious commission from the Scottish Parliament.

“Many of our other members also report a successful start to 2011, and this must augur well for the rest of the year.

“The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle will continue to do all it can to promote our individual members and the Ayrshire economy as a whole.”

THE ELITE AYRSHIRE BUSINESS CIRCLE

The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association founded in 2007 by some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the wealth and rich diversity of entrepreneurial talent and business excellence that abounds here within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse, Western House Hotel and South Ayrshire Council, and member company activities include broadcasting, building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

Frazer Coogans Commercial Solicitors senior partner Norman Geddes is executive chairman of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle, and managing director is public relations consultancy Fame Publicity Services proprietor Murdoch MacDonald.

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

South Ayrshire Council http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk 
Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk       
Turnberry Hotel and Golf Resort http://www.turnberry.co.uk 
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk       
Western House Hotel http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk/hotel.html       
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk       
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk  
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com       
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com       
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk       
Westgale Ltd Building Contractors http://www.westgale.co.uk        
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com       
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com       
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk      
JB Management – Training Providers http://www.jb-management.com
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk       
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com    
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk     
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com 
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com 
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com  
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
West Sound Radio http://www.westsound.co.uk
http://www.westfm.co.uk        
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com 

Website: http://www.eliteayrshire.com

 

Contact: Murdoch MacDonald
Phone: 01292 281498
Email: famepublicity@aol.com
Website: http://www.AyrshireScotlandBusinessNews.com