And the winners are

The 2012 Scottish French Travel Article of the Year Awards nominees and winners were announced last night during a fabulous dinner at the Chardon D’Or in Glasgow.

We are so pleased so many of Scotland’s top journalists were able to join us in showcasing the best in Scottish travel journalism. We’d like to say a big thank you to all of you who came and made it such a special evening.

Last night’s nominees and winners are:

Best Article on General Information:

  • Into the West – Barrie Daglish, The Courier & Advertiser
  • Art of Antibes – Maggie Barry, Sunday Mail (Seven Days)
  • Terrific Toulouse! – Wendy Scott, Airdrie & Coatbridge Advertiser

WinnerMaggie Barry for Art of Antibes, Sunday Mail (Seven Days)

Best Online Article:

WinnerRon Smith for Paris – a city of contrasts, The Northern Scot

Best Article for Scottish-based readers:

  • France continues to seduce us Scots – Stephen McGinty, The Scotsman
  • Riding the rails to the Riviera – Willy Newlands, The Press & Journal
  • Bordeaux Reivers – Alison Gray, The Scotsman (Magazine)

WinnerStephen Mcginty for France continues to seduce us Scots, The Scotsman

Most Entertaining Article:

  • Well fed in the Med – Mark Sweeney, The Scottish Sun
  • Our free-wheeling road trip following the Tour de France – Fergus Bisset, Press & Journal
  • A Ringing Endorsement – Derek Lambie, Scottish Sunday Express

WinnerDerek Lambie for A Ringing Endorsement, Scottish Sunday Express

Best Article on Active Holidays:

  • High on the Hills – Mercy Breheny, Scotland on Sunday (Spectrum)
  • Slippery slope to devotion – Paula Murray, Scottish Sunday Express
  • Delightful Dordogne satisfies appetites on and off the course – John Millar, Scottish Sunday Express

WinnerPaula Murray for Slippery slope to devotion, Scottish Sunday Express

If you are disappointed not to have been among the articles chosen for this year, then register for France Meets the Media from 27th February to 1st March to make sure you get the inspiration you need to be in next year’s awards.

Contact: Press Office
Phone: 020770616635