Bowdler Honoured for ‘Unique Services to Regional Media’

The former chief executive of The Scotsman’s publishers has received an honour for “his unique services to the regional media industry”.

Tim Bowdler, former Johnston Press chief executive and incoming chair of the Press Association, has been awarded the Newspaper Society’s President’s Prize at a special dinner in his honour this week.

Says the Newspaper Society: “The President’s Prize is awarded at the discretion of the president [Michael Pelosi] to recognise an individual’s personal commitment and contribution to the industry.”

There have been just eleven previous recipients of the prize: Stanley Clarke, Gordon Linacre, Malcolm Graham, Ray Tindle, Ian Park, Dugal Nisbet-Smith, Geoffrey Copeman, Fred Johnston, Philip Graf, Edwin Boorman, and John Robertson.

Bowdler took Johnston Press on an ambitious acquisition trail, the purchase of The Scotsman being its most high-profile addition to its titles list. Barely two years ago, the company’s share price was well over

Leave a comment