Scottish Screen Six to Sit on Interim Cultural Board

The creation of a single organisation, comprising a merger of Scottish Screen and the Scottish Arts Council, has taken yet another step forward, with the announcement of interim board members.

Comprising familiar names from the constituent bodies, the ‘joint board’ will operate until the completion of a proposed full merger, which will result in the single organisation, Creative Scotland.

Of the eleven appointees – Charles Lovatt, Ray Macfarlane, John Mulgrew, Steve Grimmond, Dinah Caine, Jim McSharry, Barbara McKissack, Donald Emslie, Ben Twist, Rab Noakes and Iain Smith – six currently sit on the board of Scottish Screen.

Recently, the identity of the chair was announced: Dr Richard Holloway – from the board of the Arts Council.

These appointments will run until February 1 2010, are part-time and non-remunerated. The formal time commitment is six days a year. However, members will also be involved in working groups and committees of the board, and other events, in the preparation for the transition to Creative Scotland.


Ben Twist is a freelance theatre director and producer. He was artistic director of Contact Theatre, Manchester, and associate director of the Traverse Theatre in Edinburgh. He has directed over 70 productions in Scotland, England, Europe, Latin and North America and New Zealand. He is a board director of Prime Productions and Hebrides Ensemble and has recently been asked to join the university committee that oversees the work of the macrobert centre in Stirling. He joined the capital committee of the Scottish Arts Council in 1999. In 2003, he became chair of the committee and joined the board of the Scottish Arts Council.

Leave a comment